How do I permanently delete a document from my account and the repository in iThenticate 2.0?

Note for Classic users: If you are using Classic iThenticate, please refer to our guide on how to permanently delete a document from the repository in Classic iThenticate.

In iThenticate 2.0, users can permanently delete manuscripts from both their account and the search repository. This ensures that the document will no longer be used as a searchable source for future Similarity checks.

Warning: Permanent deletion is irreversible. Once a file is purged from the Trash folder, the document and its indexing data cannot be restored.


Steps to permanently delete a file

Files can be deleted individually or in bulk by completing both stages below:

Stage 1: Move files to the trash

  1. Log in to iThenticate 2.0.
  2. Select the checkbox next to the file(s) you wish to delete from your inbox.
  3. Select the Delete button displayed in the top toolbar.

Important: Moving a file to the Trash folder does not remove it from the repository index. You must complete Stage 2 to permanently delete the file.

Stage 2: Purge files from the trash

  1. Select Trash from the sidebar navigation menu.
  2. Select the checkbox next to the file(s) you want to remove completely.
  3. Click Permanently delete.

Administrator deletions

Administrator option: Account administrators can also permanently delete papers using the Paper Lookup tool. For details, view our guide on using the Paper Lookup tool in iThenticate 2.0.


Related guides

For more details on organizing your workspace, view our guide on managing deleted files and folders.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful

Articles in this section