If your organization uses a private repository for its Classic iThenticate account, submitted manuscripts saved to the repository are used as comparison sources for future submissions within your institution.
Users have the ability to delete their own documents from both their account and the private repository so they are no longer searchable in future Similarity checks.
Warning: Permanently deleting a document cannot be undone. Once purged from the Trash folder, the file and its Similarity data cannot be restored.
Steps to permanently delete a document
- Log in to your iThenticate account.
- Locate and select the checkbox next to the document you wish to delete.
- Click the Trash Can icon to move the file to the Trash.
- Navigate to the Trash folder in your account menu.
- Select the checkbox next to the document in the Trash folder.
- Click the Delete button to permanently remove the document from your account and the private repository.
Preventing future repository storage
Tip: If you want to generate a Similarity Report for a draft without adding it to your institution's private repository, select the Generate Report Only option during the file upload process.